Gregory Solis: Digital video editing, an introduction.

Hello and thank you for dropping by my digital media blog. Here I will discuss real world problems and solutions that I and my colleagues run into as freelance digital media professionals. I am primarily a video editor but also work in photography, image retouching, graphic design, digital audio and motion graphics. Freelancers have to wear many digital hats now-a-days, so you never know what you might find here. I will talk about different software, cameras, and equipment, which may be of interest to indie filmmakers, students and other freelancers. I may also cover some ideas and strategies for special effects, both practical and digital.

 

My professional experience.

My junior college has a top notch broadcasting department where I studied Television production. In 1994, the head of the department, Michael Lee, recommended me for an editing gig at a local production house. I ended up working for Lamb Productions, in Concord Ca, for three years, cutting analog Super VHS with the trusty Panasonic WJ-MX30 edit controller. I was paid per job and allotted a certain amount of hours depending on the needs of the project. The faster I worked, the better the pay and I could move on to another project. I learned how to manage my time and focus on the editing in that environment. Some sessions were with a client present. Some editors lack the patience to sit with clients, but I am a friendly sort. I also learned that it is helpful to walk them through the process and explain why I think a certain cut or effect is important. It is always good to be generous with your knowledge and build a stronger relationship with your clients.

I left that job in 1997 to attend film school at San Francisco State University where I earned my B.A. in Cinema. I cut a number of projects for friends in that time and built up a lot of equipment for my studio over the years. My education both formally and in the field runs the gambit from preproduction: writing scripts, casing talent, and planning shot lists, to shooting on location and in the studio, make-up effects, and recording audio, to all aspects of post production and DVD authoring. In 2002 I began to offer my services as a freelance editor and have been supporting myself ever since.

Oh yeah, I also have a bit of a career as a horror author.

Well, have a look around and let me know if you have any questions. I will do my best to help.

Here is a book to get you started. The DV rebel’s guide. I cannot recommend this one enough for the budding digital film maker.

Gregory Solis

~ by gregorysolis on February 29, 2008.

One Response to “Gregory Solis: Digital video editing, an introduction.”

  1. I got this web page from my friend who informed me concerning
    this site and now this time I am visiting this site and reading very
    informative content at this place.

Leave a Reply

 
